lost I am

My dog’s name is Yoda, which has me thinking lately about the strange but wise Star Wars character I haven’t really thought about in my adult years.  It came about when a friend suggested I change my dog’s tag to “lost I am.”  Why did Yoda speak so strange and what does this creature have to teach us in today’s society?  Did  you know Wierd Al actually has a song about Yoda, to the tune of Lola… “Luke stay away from the darker side and if you start to go astray let the Force be your guide, oh my Yoda, yo yo yo my Yoda…” 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOPsfaQRcbk

So who is this cute character and why are so many fascinated with him.  In his first appearance in The Empire Strikes Back , Yoda is a mature Jedi Master who has been training Jedi Knights in the ways of the Force for more than 800 years. Yoda lives in a simple abode made of sticks and mud and eats food that is readily available in nature such as fruits, fungi and plants  (sounds like a few people I know). Yoda’s philosophy is simple yet profound; utilize the Force to seek knowledge.  The Force was the overlying philosophy in Star Wars and some would even say a religion.  It’s the typical good versus evil dichotomy.  From Episode V: Yoda states, “A Jedi’s strength flows from the Force. But beware of the dark side. Anger…fear…aggression. The dark side of the Force are they. Easily they flow, quick to join you in a fight. If once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny, consume you it will, as it did Obi-Wan’s apprentice.” Luke then says, “Vader. Is the dark side stronger?” to which Yoda replies “No…no…no. Quicker, easier, more seductive.” And Luke again asks “But how am I to know the good side from the bad?” and Yoda replies “You will know. When you are calm, at peace. Passive. A Jedi uses the Force for knowledge and defense, never for attack.”

Some more intelligent Yoda quotes: 

“Do or do not… there is no try.” 

“Size matters not, … Look at me. Judge me by size, do you?” 

“Named must your fear be before banish it you can.” 

 “Secret, shall I tell you? Grand Master of Jedi Order am I. Won this job in a raffle I did, think you? “How did you know, how did you know, Master Yoda?” Master Yoda knows these things. His job it is.

May 21st is talk like Yoda day and there is even a Yoda Speak Generator:  http://www.yodaspeak.co.uk/ 

talk to me

